Log in

ABNS Announces 2020 Janel Parker President’s Award Winner

27 Apr 2020 8:50 AM | Robert Ranieri (Administrator)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (April 27, 2020) – The American Board of Nursing Specialties (ABNS), which represents 31 nursing certification boards and over 920,000 board certified LPNs, RNs and advanced practice nurses, today announced that its 2020 Janel Parker President’s Award winner is the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. This annual ABNS award recognizes an individual or organization within the ABNS membership that has made significant contributions to specialty nursing certification and to the association.

“The NBCRNA is very deserving of the Janel Parker President’s Award, said ABNS President and Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing Executive Director Janie Schumaker, MBA, RN, CEN, CPHQ, CENP, FABC. The award nomination is quite impressive and demonstrates both industry leadership and deep commitment to specialty nursing certification and the patients who benefit from it.”

Some highlights from NBCRNA’s award nomination that really stand out are their commitment to excellence in certification. Not only does NBCRNA adhere to the industry standards, they strive to surpass them and set best practices for others to emulate. NBCRNA is also a leader in the area of research in the specialty nursing certification industry by providing funding for research, hiring qualified individuals to carry out the work and publishing findings.

NBCRNA is a visionary when it comes to volunteer leadership. NBCRNA staff at all levels serve on numerous boards and committees that define and implement certification and recertification practices, standards and regulations. NBCRNA staff represent the industry with strength at various conferences and industry meetings annually and assert a strong voice at these gatherings.

The ABNS Board of Directors could not be more excited to present NBCRNA with this prestigious award. “We commend their work and are in awe of their contributions and commitment to the patient population served by their certificant holders and our industry”, Schumaker said.

About ABNS
The American Board of Nursing Specialties (ABNS) is a not-for-profit membership organization governed by an elected group of member representatives. With a mission to promote the value of specialty nursing certification, ABNS serves as a forum for nursing credentialing organizations to connect and dialogue about the specific issues that certified nurses and those seeking certification face.

About the National Board of Certification and Recertification
The National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) is the nation’s certifying body for the initial and continued certification of the nearly 54,000 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs). Our primary responsibility is to guard the well-being of the public by seeking to ensure that those who secure the CRNA credential have the necessary knowledge and skills to practice safely and effectively. We accomplish our mission through the development and implementation of credentialing programs that support lifelong learning among nurse anesthetists. The NBCRNA’s CRNA credential program and its Nonsurgical Pain Management (NSPM-C) credential program are accredited by both the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) and the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC).

(click to enlarge)

ABNS – American Board of Nursing Specialties

Regarding Verification of Credentials

ABNS does not verify certification credentials of individual certified nurses. To verify a credential, contact the certifying agency that granted the credential. ABNS does not administer certification programs.

This website contains information specific to specialty nursing certification and is not intended or designed to give medical or nursing advice.

Contact Us

3416 Primm Lane
Birmingham, AL 35216 USA
Fax: 205-823-2760

Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software